My take on the Nintendo Switch

Ever since the big Nintendo presentation last thursday, all anyone is talking about is the Switch and the high hopes they have for the hybrid console.

Personally, I haven’t been on the Nintendo bandwagon since the GameBoy Advanced. I really couldn’t tell you what made me change my mind about the company. The Xbox has been my go-to system ever since Halo 2 came out back in 2004 and I have always been a fan of Sony but when it came to the Wii and Wii U, I couldn’t find what I was looking for in terms of games and being comfortable with a controller and now with the Switch, I can’t see myself commiting to a company that has not lived up to past console expectations.

Now with that being said, after Thursdays presentation, I have higher hopes for the new console that I did previously. The fact that I could be playing my favorite console games on the go and anywhere I want is an extremely appealing triat. How many times have we been at work or the mother-in-law’s house thinking “I could be playing Zelda right now” and you just had to wait? Unfortunately, it looks like the average lifespan of the battery while the Switch is in tablet mode is anywhere from two to four hours which is kind of a buzzkill.

The games they are releasing at launch feel a little underwhelming as well. Of course, your big seller is The Legend Of Zelda: Breath Of The Wild. It’s the first time that Link will be in a completely open world enviroment and looks very promising. As for the graphics, not that it should matter that much, they look pretty simular to the Wii U. It will look even worse when the game is in tablet mode as it doesn not run on 1080p. As for the rest of the games, Arms seems like it could be fun… for about 15 minutes. It’s a boxing game with extendable arms which seems like a fun idea but doesnt show a lot of replay value unless you have friends over.

Mario Kart 8 will be making its way to the Switch, along with a few other releases that have been available for the Wii U. Splatoon, the third person competitive paint shooter, will be back with its second installment of the franchise. Apart from those games I’ve mentioned, it doesnt seem like theyll have any games until the holidays for anyone to drool over. Oh! Bethesda has partnered with Nintendo to bring the Elder Scrolls phenominon Skyrim to the Switch! The game has only been out for six years now and has been remastered for both Xbox and PS4 so if you havent already owned the game, you’re a bit behind.

Speaking of Bethesda, third party games are the one thing I am going to be very interested in. If they could get a few games that are shying away from the kid stuff and more of a God of War or type of game, it could breathe life back into the company.

This is obviously my opinion and I think the Switch will be successful but I just cant bring myself to buy one. Still, this is a very big step for gaming with the switching between home and mobile options. I can’t wait to see what else Nintendo can dish out this year!

Author: slayer1223

Clevelander born to love bad sports teams, play heavy metal, eat greasy food and always beat the game on the hardest difficulty first

Leave a comment